Mom.

I want desperately to write something poignant and profound and compelling and beautiful and insightful and soul-gripping right now — to pay tribute and do justice to my beautiful Mom as she continues to struggle in the hospital.

Fact of the matter is, I do not have the words. I’m a “word guy” by trade and rarely have little to say, but I’m not in the right place to try and “create” anything right now. I’m sure the words will come and much will be made of drug-induced comments like:

“Did they take my colon out?”
YES, MA’AM.
“Was it yummy?”

But now is not the time and I’m still a bit shell-shocked by the gross reality of seeing someone I love in such unrelenting pain. Many people have asked how Mom is doing and I am happy to report that the doctors are all positive and seem to think she will be OK in a few days. She will remain in the hospital for a week (or more) and then will be able to look forward to a couple months’ recovery at home.

The surgery they performed on her is not all too uncommon. For lack of a more specific “name,” she underwent a colectomy. More than 80% of her large intestine was removed yesterday along with quite a bit of scar tissue in her abdomen. The pain and struggle of this alone — I have been told — is enough to make even eternity-unsure people wish for death. Mom also has Parkinson’s Disease and chronic back and neck pain due to the deterioration of her disks and bones and (other stuff) back there. The tall and the short of it (whatever that means) is that she is very sick and very hurt and in need of love and care and prayer more now than ever before.

I posted a link to a guy’s blog earlier… named David Wenzel. David is battling a brain tumor with a courage and humility and faith that I have seen only a couple of times in my life. The first was as my Dad fought Lou Gehrig’s Disease. Now, I am blessed with watching my beloved Mom shine despite (and in spite of) her health problems. Please go read David’s blog and be changed as you discover how God is moving in and through him.

For now, I will leave you with this snippet from his latest post, which has given me new hope and resolve as I sit helplessly watching the strongest person I know… be strong:

“Every moment of suffering is an opportunity, if allowed, for us to be chiseled for eternity and to grow in empathy for the sufferings of others. I pray above all else that my cancer (whether right, wrong, good, bad, silly, goofy, etc…) shows the world that Christ suffered for us, not so that his followers could be rich, healthy, well-networked, smart and good-looking, but so that the world would know His followers by their ongoing sacrificial actions of compassion and love for those who are the lowest of the low… It’s easy for us to pray for safety, comfort, health and wealth. But are we willing to pray for anything that will bring us closer to Christ? Even if it includes suffering? I hope that we would never miss out on an opportunity to understand the sufferings of Christ so we can be chiseled for eternity, to grow in maturity and perseverance and to sympathize with those around us who are also suffering. And despite the fear and pain that may come, I hope we can all repeat the words of Jesus in the Garden of Gethsemane as He was being led to his death:

Shall I not drink the cup my father has given me?” -John 18:11

Dear friends, do not be surprised at the painful trial you are suffering, as though something strange were happening to you. But rejoice that you participate in the sufferings of Christ, so that you may be overjoyed when His glory is revealed. – 1 Peter 4:12-13

Thanks for your continued prayers. She covets them. I covet them. All who love her and believe in the power of your prayers covet them.

Good night.

1 Comment

  1. Wow Billy. This is excruciating, and tender, and radiant, and challenging. We will be praying for Melanie. And, we will be praying for you as you ache for her, and love her, and look for the words…

    Much love to all of you from the family Mullican.

Leave a Reply

