Don’t sweat the small stuff… Write it down.

It makes me happy when…

Abe wants to cut the grass with me.

Bethany hugs me.

Anna Beth laughs.

I don’t get razor burn.

Quinn says, “Daddy.”

I learn from teaching.

Jason sings.

My Mom calls.

The beer is cold.

The meeting is canceled.

The tank is full.

Ben wants to play catch.

My socks match.

The air is cool.

The toilet paper is soft.

Debbie writes.

Someone raises their hands in worship.

The Commodores win.

The coffee is brewing.

Merrie Cannon wants to sit in my lap.

The words come quickly.

The pillow is cold.

The stall is empty.

Other people laugh.

I pray.

The alarm is not set.

The kids find a frog.

The bills are paid.

The Nilla Wafers are crunchy.

Bacon is being cooked.

Bacon is being eaten.

I rub Bethany’s feet.

My father in law talks about football.

I reconnect with friends.

I pull into the driveway.

West Wing reruns are on.

No one else is at the pool.

A child is adopted.

The ceiling fan is on.

Ben tells a joke.

Scotty and I talk.

Christmas music plays in iTunes… In May.

The project is approved.

The kitchen is clean.

Bethany smiles.

The check is in the mailbox.

Someone says, “great work.”

I know the answer.

I understand the answer.

There are no answers.

Tomorrow is not planned.

Abe prays.

The Tylenol kicks in.

White space is appreciated.

Poems don’t rhyme.

Tiger Woods wins.

I leave.

I get home.

I write.

Merrie Cannon dances.

Friends do great work.

Other people are happy.

That’s just a few off the top of my head. I feel like most of my conversations lately have been about things that suck. I just needed to remind myself that there are a lot more things that don’t…

5 Comments

  1. Absolutely awesome… I, like you, have been overwhelmed by the stuff that sucks lately.

    More things that don’t suck:
    thoughts of a beach trip.

    visiting the pool….on a Tuesday.

    t-ball.

    grilling chicken.

    unfathomable and undeserved grace.

Leave a Reply

