Just a few things I’ve learned while living away from my family.

I have been driving back and forth between Birmingham and Nashville for a little over 5 months. 165 days to be exact. I drive to Nashville on Monday mornings (between 4:30-5:30 AM) and return to where the heart is on Fridays (between 5-9 PM). While away, I live in a 2 bedroom apartment with another “commuter.” He’s a nice guy, and I enjoy his company… but there’s no getting around the fact that I am 38 years old and living with a dude.

Anyway, I’ve learned a few things while living away from my family. Allow me to share a few:

  • I can live on nothing but peanut butter and Diet Mountain Dew for AT LEAST 5 days in a row
  • Bread eventually turns green
  • I take toilet paper for granted
  • I am better when I am with my wife and kids
  • I am not as good as I should be when I am with my wife and kids
  • Love sometimes means being unhappy
  • There are approximately 42 Shell gas stations between Exit 65 and home
  • Having to share a bed with my wife and 2.5 of 5 kids is better than sleeping alone
  • Sleeping alone is awesome
  • People who can whistle, but choose not to, are not happy people
  • I need to whistle more
  • If I give all I possess to the poor and surrender my body to the flames, but have not love, I gain nothing
  • If I work very hard and earn money to buy things and pay bills, but have not love, I have nothing
  • I have Love
  • I also have love
  • I am very lucky
  • TPL stands for Third Party Liability
  • BOD stands for Business Office Director
  • LBTA stands for Large Balance troubled Account
  • An ICD-9 code is a real thing and not something they made up to trick me
  • Men who don’t fart should not be trusted
  • I am very trustworthy
  • “Great creative is only great creative if it does what it’s supposed to do” is a bunch of crap. Great creative really is great creative
  • “I was a writer” can never be a true statement
  • My friends mean more to me than I ever wanted them to
  • Kids grow up every day
  • “Life’s too short” is not necessarily true
  • God knows what He is doing
  • Sometimes God keeps secrets
  • I only snore when I am at home
  • Pretzels taste good dipped in peanut butter
  • Bananas taste good dipped in peanut butter
  • Doritos do not taste good dipped in peanut butter
  • Have I mentioned toilet paper?
  • I no longer like Doritos
  • My wife buys the dental floss
  • Cable TV is overrated
  • The Internet is overrated
  • Jobs are overrated
  • Sex is underrated
  • Laughter is underrated
  • Things that are important are more important when we don’t have them
  • My wife is a hero (but not just because of the dental floss thing)
  • 165 days is a long, long time
  • 166 days is even longer
  • I am blessed beyond all measure
  • I need to stop looking for my ruler…
2 Comments

Leave a Reply

